Analysing Apps with Bloom’s Taxonomy

by gwoodill on August 21, 2011

Bloom’s Taxonomy is a hierarchy of educational objectives developed by Benjamin Bloom and his colleagues in the 1950s. It is actually three sets of objectives, but many people are only familiar with the “cognitive domain”, and miss the later work on the “affective domain” and the “psychomotor domain.” This is the case for Silvia Tolisano in her analysis of educational iPad apps in terms of the six levels of objectives in the cognitive domain, namely:

  • Remembering
  • Understanding
  • Applying
  • Analyzing
  • Evaluating
  • Creating

As the diagram indicates above, she was able to find apps that were examples of each of the above levels of the taxonomy. This approach is useful in a limited way as a method of sorting out educational value of apps. But learning is rarely one kind of activity, fulfilling one type of objectives. It’s a starting point, but doesn’t really capture the messy complexity of learning.

Bloom’s Taxonomy and iPad Apps | Langwitches | Silvia Tolisano | 21 August 2011

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: